15th January 2016

About SANS

sansbanner

SANS VISION

Our vision is to foster interest in Neuroscience and facilitate communication between those interested in Neuroscience, within Southern Africa and Africa.

SANS MISSION

It is the Mission of the Southern African Neuroscience Society to foster interest in Neuroscience and facilitate communication between those interested in Neuroscience, within South Africa and Africa.

SANS EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Chair: Fleur Howells, University of Cape Town (  howellsfleur@gmail.com  )
Secretary: Tanya Calvey, University of Witwatersrand (  Tanya.Calvey@wits.ac.za  )
Treasurer: Sian Hemmings, Stellenbosch University (  smjh@sun.ac.za  ) 

Deputy Chair: Jacqueline Womersley, Stellenbosch University
jacqueline.womersley@gmail.com  / jsw1@sun.ac.za )
Deputy Secretary: Lihle Qulu, University of KwaZulu-Natal (  qulul@ukzn.ac.za  )

Social Media & Outreach
Antoinette Burger, University of Cape Town (  antburger@gmail.com  )
Tiro Brombacher, University of Cape Town (tiro.brombacher@gmail.com)
Ruth Levin-Vorster, University of Cape Town (ruth@createbridges.co.za)

Transformation:
Nathaniel McGregor , Stellenbosch University (  nathanielmcgregor@gmail.com  )
Kimberley Williams, University of Cape Town (  kimberley.c.williams@gmail.com  )

Co-opted executive committee members
Vivienne Russell, University of Cape Town (  Vivienne.Russell@uct.ac.za  )
Brian Harvey, North West University ( Brian.Harvey@nwu.ac.za )
Lauren Blake, University of Cape Town (lblake4759@hotmail.com)
Tosin Abiola Olasehinde, University of Fort Hare (tosinolasehinde26@yahoo.com)

SANS ORGINS

The Southern African Neuroscience Group was founded by:

  • Frans Taljaard  (Chemical Pathologist, University of Stellenbosch)
  • Viv Russell (Neurochemist, University of Stellenbosch)
  • Quinton Oswald (Bristol-Myers Squibb, sponsor)
  • James Temlett (Neurologist, University of the Witwatersrand)
  • Wessel Wessels (Psychiatrist, University of Natal)

Co-opted members:

  • Ben Potgieter (Chair of SA Pharmacology society)
  • Abraham Aucamp (Secretary of SA Pharmacology Society)
  • Ben Allmann (Bristol-Myers Squibb)

This group of neuroscientists contributed significantly to the growth of neuroscience in our country to such an extent that it became a society with a membership in excess of 100. Later SANS became affiliated to SONA (The Society for Neuroscientists of Africa), and a member of IBRO (The International Brain Research Organisation).

SANS CHAIRs

  • Prof JJF Taljaard (1988 – 1994)
  • Prof R Emsley (1995 – 1996)
  • Prof VA Russell (1997 – 1998)
  • Prof S Daya (1999 – 2000)
  • Prof WM Daniels (2001- 2010)
  • Prof LA Kellaway (2010 – 2014)
  • Assoc. Prof FM Howells (2014 – current)