15th January 2016

About SANS



Our vision is to foster interest in Neuroscience and facilitate communication between those interested in Neuroscience, within Southern Africa and Africa.


It is the Mission of the Southern African Neuroscience Society to foster interest in Neuroscience and facilitate communication between those interested in Neuroscience, within South Africa and Africa.


Chair: Fleur Howells, University of Cape Town ( howellsfleur@gmail.com )

Secretary: Tanya Calvey, University of Witwatersrand ( Tanya.Calvey@wits.ac.za )

Treasurer: Sian Hemmings, Stellenbosch University ( smjh@sun.ac.za ) on condition stipulated in point 10d SANS AGM 2016

Executive committee member social media & outreach: SJH, University of Cape Town

Executive committee member social media & outreach: Jacqueline Womersley, Stellenbosch University ( jacqueline.womersley@gmail.com )

Executive committee member social media & outreach: Antoinette Burger, University of Cape Town ( antburger@gmail.com )

Executive committee member social media & outreach: David John Hume, University of Cape Town ( davidjohnhume@gmail.com )

Executive committee member: transformation: Dr Lihle Qulu, University of KwaZulu-Natal ( qulul@ukzn.ac.za )

Executive committee member: transformation: Dr Nathaniel McGregor, Stellenbosch University ( nathanielmcgregor@gmail.com )

Executive committee member: transformation: Ms Kimberley Williams, University of Cape Town ( kimberley.c.williams@gmail.com )

Co-opted executive committee member: Vivienne Russell, University of Cape Town ( Vivienne.Russell@uct.ac.za )

Co-opted executive committee member: Brian Harvey, North West University ( Brian.Harvey@nwu.ac.za )

Co-opted executive committee member: Jennifer Hsieh, University of Cape Town ( jennifer.hsieh@uct.ac.za )

Co-opted executive committee member: Laurie Kellaway, University of Cape Town ( lauriston.kellaway@uct.ac.za )



The Southern African Neuroscience Group was founded by:

Frans Taljaard  (Chemical Pathologist, University of Stellenbosch)

Viv Russell (Neurochemist, University of Stellenbosch)

Quinton Oswald (Bristol-Myers Squibb, sponsor)

James Temlett (Neurologist, University of the Witwatersrand)

Wessel Wessels (Psychiatrist, University of Natal)

Co-opted members:

Ben Potgieter (Chair of SA Pharmacology society)

Abraham Aucamp (Secretary of SA Pharmacology Society)

Ben Allmann (Bristol-Myers Squibb)

This group of neuroscientists contributed significantly to the growth of neuroscience in our country to such an extent that it became a society with a membership in excess of 100. Later SANS became affiliated to SONA (The Society for Neuroscientists of Africa), and a member of IBRO (The International Brain Research Organisation).


  • Prof JJF Taljaard (1988 – 1994)
  • Prof R Emsley (1995 – 1996)
  • Prof VA Russell (1997 – 1998)
  • Prof S Daya (1999 – 2000)
  • Prof WM Daniels (2001- 2010)
  • Prof LA Kellaway (2010 – 2014)
  • Dr FM Howells (2014 – current)